SpiceJet adds spice to my life – My first flight experience


  • There were times when my grandmother told stories about her husband travelling to different countries
  • There were times when my eyes swept the sky to see a plane pass by
  • There were times when I played with my friends in the terrace and suddenly shouted  out of excitement “Hey Aeroplane.. Hey Aeroplane”
  • There were times when movies showcased the entire city from the top and enthralled my imaginations
  • There were times when I saw my father bidding adieu to me and flying on the giant bird in front of my eyes

I was a small kid and thoughts about these lingered in my mind. I couldn’t resist my curiosity and inquisitiveness. They surged at every tick of the clock. The view of harmonious oceans, peaceful cities, captivating clouds, chirping birds, blue blue skies, green green earth, ant like people from the flight.. Amazing!!! Expectations.. They just grew.. My heart raced. I wanted to fly as soon as possible. The wait was long indeed!!

The D-Day arrived – Feb 21st 2009, Sunday. The time came for me to get into the Giant Bird “SpiceJet”. I entered the Airport with my head held high conveying that I am going to travel today and that my little dream is going to come true. With all smiles, I got my ticket verified and got the travel tag stuck to my travel kit. I just didn’t want to remove the tag. Tag seemed to me like my ID card. I was screened everywhere by security and I screened everything as well.  Just didn’t want to miss anything. This was the first time I had crossed the waiting area. Wow!! It looked awesome – People around, announcements, flights in my vision, security guards with heavy guns, nice looking girls n what not.

Announcement: “Passengers for the SpiceJet flight are requested to take gate number 2”.

There is the moment. I was nearing. The sense of Joy.. I could feel it.. Bus was waiting in the pathway. I boarded it and gazed at so many flights. What a sight!! It just took my breath away for a second.. I have never looked at the flights so closer in my life. The clean roads, humongous flights, and musical lights everything looked beautiful. I started off from the bus to climb the stairs of the Giant bird ,SpiceJet flight. Right u guessed it,. The beautiful Air Hostess welcomed me “Welcome sir.. Your seat number?”. The sight of the interior design was stupendous.

Announcement:

“Ladies and gentlemen, On behalf of SpiceJet Airlines, I would like to welcome you on board our flight from Chennai to Mumbai.

Our flight time will be of 2 hours and 30 minutes. We will be flying at an altitude of XXX feet/meters at a ground speed of YYY miles per hour/kilometers per hour.

At this time, make sure your seat backs and tray tables are in their full upright position. Also make sure your seat belt is correctly fastened. Also, we advise you that as of this moment, any electronic equipment must be turned off. Thank you.”

I didn’t know how to wear the seat belt. The beautiful Air hostess saw me struggling and she helped me out. An old man sitting in front of me asked “First time??”. I Said ‘Yes’ with a smile.

Flight’s engine roared. My heart soared. Slowly, slowly, I was moving towards my dream. I was peeping out with my face stuck to the window like I was seeing the world for the first time. It seemed quite analogous to a baby seeing around when it is brought out of the house for the first time. I was in my own world..

Flight moved faster.  Now, really fassstttttttttttttttt.. The take-off took off my thoughts to a different dimension. I took a deep breath, relaxed and told myself “Anand, this is reality and no dreaming anymore”.  Now my head remained stuck to the window and my eye balls rotated 360 degrees to capture the reassuring earth, captivating clouds, chirping birds, harmonious oceans, peaceful cities and ant like people. My head went in all angles/degrees to cover as many views as possible.  People looked at me bizarrely. I just didn’t bother. I loved the scenic beauty. I was flying internally, externally and eternally..

“There are many boys down.. Now their eyes are sweeping the sky looking at my giant bird pass by”.. They will fly like me someday.. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Wow! Nicely written.. reminded me of the way i feel on every flight!! I especially love the take offs and landings… the weird feeling they give u in the tummy.. hehe.. 🙂

  2. Anand… First thing.. I saw the post is filed under Director’s special! Appadina..???? 🙂

    Now to the post.. it brought back the memories of my first flight travel.. Descriptions used conveyed the excitement of an innocent joy in flying for the first time.. I liked it.. 🙂

    “I was flying internally, externally and eternally” – Keep flying dude!

  3. ” internally, externally and eternally” – Keep flying dude!:)

    I liked the ending very much! In those moments when the dream come true one flies in the air even without a flight!

  4. Story was awesome… had a feel like i was with u when u r flying first time.. Keep rocking and flying!!! – Magi

Leave a Reply

